K-2 Science & Tech Lab
 
When I arrived at school yesterday around 7am, one egg had hatched and there was a little, wet chick resting in the incubator! There was another egg in the incubator that was making good progress, and at 10:00am, during Mrs. Countryman's science lab time, it hatched! By the end of the school day yesterday, there were 6 other eggs that had "pipped," or made their first crack in the shell.

This morning, when I arrived at school, there were 6 chicks in the incubator! They all looked like they had hatched sometime during the night, as their feathers were beginning to dry, and they were more sure-footed. Because it takes a lot of strength and energy to hatch out of a shell, the chicks are very tired, and take frequent naps.

I anticipate we will have more chicks hatching in the next day or two because the eggs were given to me in two batches, about 48 hours apart. We'll see though! Hopefully, we will be able to take these six chicks out of the incubator tomorrow and transfer them to a brooder.

If you'd like to see our fine feathered friends, feel free to stop by the science lab after school. I have duty on Wednesdays and Fridays, but I'll be back in my room by 3pm. Hope to see you soon!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.